Reading and writing!

As we head towards winter it’s inevitable that I’ll be doing more sofa flying with a good book, a cup of tea and a couple of digestive biscuits.

This year to supplement what I’ll be reading I’ve decided to read Barbara Nadel’s Cetin Ikman crime series which are set in Turkey. Although I’ve read her other books I’ve read none of these so I’m starting at the beginning with Belshazzar’s Daughter, which I’ve just started.  As an aside over on Twitter, as Sofaflyer, I often exchange tweets with Barbara.

I’m sure that you’ll have read over on Flighty’s plot that during November I’ll be taking part in National Novel Writing Month by attemping to write a 50,000 word book.  It’s good to know that friends Elaine, Jan and Yvonne are also joining in the fun.

I’ll be reporting on my progress, or otherwise, here over the coming weeks.

Happy reading and writing!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reading and writing!

  1. Aegean Jan says:

    Thanks for the mention, Mike! I’ll be checking out Barbara’s books too! Looking forward to the Nanowrimo challenge with you xx

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Good luck with writing your novel, Flighty. Do you have the basic story for it mapped-out already?

  3. Jo says:

    I love to have a whole series of books ready to read through from the beginning. As you know, I’m plodding my way through The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency at the moment. Good luck with your writing challenge, I’m looking forward to following your progress.

  4. elaine says:

    Oo er – you’ve made it public – no backing out now. Should be good fun.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    So — you’re in! Hope you will write about your progress.

  6. snowbird says:

    50k words eh???? wow, mighty impressed I am.xxxxx

Leave a Reply

