The Kate Shackleton Mysteries

Dying in the WoolA couple of months ago I borrowed Dying in the Wool by Frances Brody from the library.  It’s the first of her Kate Shackleton mysteries, four of which have been published.

It’s a cosy crime book set in Yorkshire during the early 1920’s featuring a World War One widow turned sleuth which I really enjoyed reading.

I’ve subsequently read the others, all of which proved equally as good and been perfect for sofa flying with at this time of year.

The fifth book in this series, Murder on a Summer’s Day,  is due to be published in September.

Happy reading!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Kate Shackleton Mysteries

  1. Jo says:

    This sounds like it could be something I enjoy so I’ve popped it on my list of books to look out for. I enjoy stories set in Yorkshire.

  2. alison says:

    I’m not much into crime. I’ve been reading children/teen books lately. Currently reading Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Loving it. Happy sofa flying! Hope you’re keeping warm :)

  3. pianolearner says:

    I’ll keep an eye out for it in our library. I’m currently reading Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin.

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, I like cosy crimes! I’m half way through Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series and starting Alafair Burke’s Ellie Hatcher series. Also about 2/3 into Michael Connelly’s backlist but I needed a break from Harry for a while ;-) Still have a pile of audiobooks waiting.

Leave a Reply

