Birds in a Cage

Birds in a CageAs well as doing the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch last weekend just for an hour I also started reading Birds in a Cage by Derek Niemann, which I was pleased to find on the new books shelf at the local library last Friday.

It tells the story of four British prisoners of war during the Second World War who were birdwatchers. Peter Conder, one of the four, later became director of the RSPB transforming it from a small amateur club into an enduring force for nature conservation.

I shall mention this book again once I’ve hopefully enjoyed reading it, and  you’ll be able to see how I got on with my birdwatch in the next Flighty’s plot post.

Happy reading!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birds in a Cage

  1. wellywoman says:

    Sounds like a really interesting book. I’ll make a note of that one. I’m off to the library this weekend so will take a look to see if it’s there.

  2. Jo says:

    Stop already! My book list is growing each time you post. This sounds really interesting and another one to put on my list. It’s great to hear about people using their libraries too, there’s too many closing down these days and the only way we’re going to keep them is if we all use them. I didn’t get to do the Birdwatch as other things came up, I was so annoyed with myself, so I’m looking forward to hearing how you did.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo sorry! My book list is ever growing too. I’ve only read a few pages and already found it so. I’ve been using my libraries regularly for 60 years. That’s a shame. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Fascinating story. I look forward to your review!

  4. daffy says:

    That book does sound very good, I will be interested to hear if you enjoyed it. Not sure how ‘out of the loop’ I am here… but my friend, and your FB friend Philip posted about a book he received from his sister as a Christmas gift and I can’t wait to get my hands upon a copy. Sadly it’s not due for hardback release in the UK until early August. It is called The Purchase and it is written by Linda Spalding. I think you might like it too!

    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13330476-the-purchase

    (Goodreads review link) xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I was reading it this afternoon and I’m sure that I’ll enjoy it.
      I’m always happy to have good books recommended, so thanks for mentioning this one. It’s the sort of book that I read for a change, and I’ve put it on my list for next winter! xx

Leave a Reply

