Stamps and bonsai

Most of the post I receive nowadays, apart from overseas, either doesn’t carry a postage stamp or just an ordinary second class one.

USA bonsai azalia stampThe Origami cats that I mentioned the other week came from Southern California and the envelope they were in carried three of the USA 2012 Bonsai stamps - azalea, black pine and sierra juniper. 

I don’t collect stamps but Jim, a long time friend, always has done so I give him nearly all the ones that I get. He keeps some of the more interesting ones and gives the rest to one of the charities that he supports.

Although I’ve always found bonsai a fascinating subject it’s not something I have ever wanted to do.

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stamps and bonsai

  1. Jo says:

    I remember collecting first day covers when I was a child, I think my dad still has them. Most of my mail is franked these days, but any stamps I do receive get given to Mick’s auntie as she takes them to the WI. They collect them for charity. I’m fascinated by bonsai, but it’s not something I’d want to do either.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s something that I’ve never done. It’s a shame that there are fewer stamps, especially for the charities that take used ones.
      I think that a lot people feel the same about bonsai. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    I’d always purchased special international stamps thinking I needed the exact amount. But in a pinch, cobbled together some of our domestic “forever” stamps… which happen to be those bonsais :-) Glad your friend enjoyed them.

  3. pianolearner says:

    I have never been a stamp collector, but that one is a beautiful example.

Leave a Reply

